Shutter Speed

Settings: Canon EOS Rebel SL2, TV Mode, f/10, 1/800 sec. ISO-3200

This photo is with a fast shutter speed. I wanted to photograph the splash of rocks as they were thrown in the water, and I liked this one the best because the splash looked very cool and ended up on the rule of thirds. I also liked the rougher water to the left side, and how the water changes from a brown-ish color to a more cyan or green color at the top. I thought the rocks at the bottom fit very nicely as well. I can’t really decide if I like the rocks right at the edge of the top right, because they kind of frame the shot but I don’t know if it would have looked better without them.

Settings: Canon EOS Rebel SL2, f/16, 1/2 sec. ISO-100

I really liked how the water on this part of the river looked with a slow shutter speed. The water had kind of a tiny miniature waterfall right here, and I thought it turned out pretty cool with the slow shutter speed. I thought the rocks at the edges of the shot also contrasted the smooth slightly blurry water, because they obviously weren’t moving and stayed very clear. Honestly the one thing that bugs me a bit is that the picture feels slightly tilted, and it feels a bit off to me, but it doesn’t really affect the picture, so it doesn’t matter that much. Just feels a bit off to me, like the photo is slightly off kilter, but I don’t know if anyone else would notice it a lot. Otherwise, I am very happy with this photo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *